at the gates.

Words to a co-worker as we were parting after a farewell dinner. It helped me consolidate all the thoughts that had been in my head for the past few days into one flowing, eloquent speech. I think this probably helped me more than her.

“My parting words will be this:
There’s that English saying that:
‘Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me.’
Life is too short, to make the same mistake twice.
There is a lot in life you can’t control,
Lots you can.
It’s about making the most out of what you can control,
not making the same mistake again
and not fearing those choices.
There’s lots of definitions of a good life.
For many, it’s living life to the extreme,
Of extending beyond the supposed lifetime, energy of one’s life.
In other words, it’s measured by how much do you leave behind.
It’s measured both by breadth and depth.
You can affect many lives or you can change a few lives.
Or you can be an over-achiever and change a lot of lives
It all depends on what you want, what you’re looking out of your short life.
Now go get on your train.”

I tried changing the ending, give it a cliche ending but it didn’t work. I guess some things should be left the way they are.

Leave a Reply

