looking back

(Sep 26,2012)

so JL recently told me that CDNIS chinese magazine was looking for submissions. I replied saying my Chinese is crap but he said what I said was more important. Somehow, I agree.

so here I am on a Monday. slept for 5 hours last night, took a nap during the day. just came out of 2.5 hours of TA-ing a lab. and in the back of my head is this question what advice would I give to students.

so here goes some snippets of truth I’ve gathered from two years of college.

  • You control your life. be comfortable with yourself, your imperfections, your regrets. you decide who you want to be.
  • Expand your universe. Realize that despite what our parents have been trying to make us believe, realize the universe is not about you at all. You have to find your own place in the universe.
  • Meaning is what YOU construct out of experience. Work hard, stay straight, believe in yourself, and don’t be afraid to take risks.
  • You can study lots of stuffy things like philosophy and religion to decide on your way of life. but the answer is always love, love one another, love yourself.

Perhaps I’ll get a chance to write this out in full someday.

One thought on “looking back

Leave a Reply

