mr lky

I started doing an impression of Mr Lee Kwan Yew after I came back from Singapore this past summer. I pretended to be a Singaporean taxicab driver Uncle (or Ungul if you’re from SG) explaining to a foreigner. “You know why Singapore people are so resilient. This is because our former prime minster Mr Lee Kwan Yew said in 1990, ‘Even from my sick bed, if you are going to lower me into the grave and I feel something is wrong, ‘ (pause) ‘I WILL GET UP'” And most of the people from my parent’s generations crack up.

It sounds a little exaggerated but that is the Singapore that Mr Lee helped mold. All my friends from Singapore have this fiery resilience and backbone and this deep love for Singapore that Mr Lee deeply espoused. So I deeply appreciate what this man has done for the country and the people of Singapore.

RIP Mr Lee Kwan Yew

Leave a Reply

